Chicken, Grapefruit, Pistachio Salad

Light, refreshing and perfect for a hot summer day… Which we haven’t had and I don’t see in the near future but last night I just didn’t feel like a heavy meal. After being out the night before until midnight at the final (sigh) Bruins game, I really didn’t feel like cooking anything that required thinking, a lot of work, or heavy lifting.  I did have 4 thin sliced chicken breasts on hand, a grapefruit, and pistachio nuts.

While poaching the chicken breasts in some white wine with a little ground pepper (only takes about 10 minutes) I prepped the salad dressing:

In a medium size bowl:

– Mix about 1/4 cup of mayonaise with 2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard (I love the Mailie Old Style whole grain with the seeds)

– Stir in juice from 1/4 fresh lemon
– Add about 2 tablespoons of fresh minced coriander

– Peel 1 grapefruit, remove membrane between segments & mix segments into the dressing
– Add 1/2 to 3/4 cup of pistachio nuts
– After poaching and letting the chicken breasts cool, cube & mix in to the dressing
– Arrange chicken salad on a bed of romaine lettuce

And tonight, now that I’m a little bit rested I will attempt to make Susan’s Zucchini Pancakes.  I’ve been desperate to try these when I saw them on her site and now I’m just thinking…”how do I disguise the zucchini so that John doesn’t know that he’s eating a vegetable”? Oh well, he’s a smart man.  If he wants his food supply to continue he’ll eat them.

9 thoughts on “Chicken, Grapefruit, Pistachio Salad

  1. It really is & yes, the grapefruit does add a bit of sour but the dressing balances it all out. I’ll let you know how the pancakes come out, but I’m not known for presentation so I’m probably going to just pretend I intentionally made them into Mickey Mouses or something.

    Like

Leave a Reply

