Recipe Reviews – My thank you to those who share

I know how wonderful it is to get great, positive, or just fun comments when you post a recipe that you’ve created or enjoy.  I realize many times I’ve said “this look great, can’t wait to try it” (it might take me a while but I really do mean it when I say it) and I really do try to get back to the person’s comments to let them know how it turned out.  But then I think the comment might get lost within all the other comments and other readers might not pick up on the feedback.  This is my thank you to all those who’ve taken the time to post so that we all might enjoy their creativity and of course to let you know how a cooking challenged person does with some of these great ideas. (and yes, I will definitely critique the zucchini, goat cheese, salmon but just have to save that for last).

First up, I made DomesticDiva’s beer can roast chicken yesterday and it was succulent!  I did have to go back to ask her the purpose of stuffing a beer can up the chicken’s butt (moisture from the 1/2 beer in the can creates moisture from within & it does) to explain to my husband about the beer can.  I just made up this idea that the reflection of the beer can helps cook it from within but that’s because I just make stuff up all the time.  I don’t drink beer & didn’t want to waste the 1/2 can of beer so I used it to baste the chicken as it cooked.

Justa’s glazed salmon with broccoli over rice was wonderful.  I love salmon and this glaze was exactly what I was looking for.  The mustard with the maple syrup gave the salmon just the right sweetness with a zing.

And a couple of Susan’s recipes are worthy of praise.  She is really giving me some good stuff to sneak some vegetables past John’s lips and the spinach-cheese bake was both easy and delicious.  I really was shocked by John’s reaction on this one since I thought he’d say “good but could you leave out the spinach next time”.  It also makes up plenty for leftover lunch snacks.

And finally, the recipe I’ve been tormenting Susan for… zucchini pancakes with goat cheese & smoked salmon – from Inner Ina.  This one deserves a little more comment on my part.  First I did add the red onion (I like onion & thought it added a nice flavor) and I also used Susan’s suggestion of putting in a dash of nutmeg.  But there are a couple of things that I would suggest in the directions.

First:  the part where it says “preheat oven to 300°.  I would add:
**BEFORE preheating oven to 300° look inside oven to see if you have stashed a tray of breadcrumbs to dry.  Do not forget that you have preheated oven until you are ready to start pancakes.

Next I would suggest a little more emphasis on:  “When the butter is hot but not smoking, lower the heat to medium-low“.  I would perhaps put this in red and add the following warning:  “Once you have started melting the butter, do not walk away to chat with your daughter on the phone while playing a couple games of solitaire.  If you chose to ignore this warning, then open the windows, grab a large bath towel & start waving it around under the smoke alarms to clear them. Spray judicious amounts of air freshener before your husband gets home & says “what the hell stinks!”.  But truly, I know some people might not be fans of goat cheese or smoked salmon, however I am and this was really an outstanding recipe that I will definitely make again.  Even John agreed that he would definitely like to see them repeated even after I told him the ‘green stuff’ was zucchini.  I found that the recipe would be perfect for 2 people, neither of us could quite finish the 3rd pancake we each had.

My thanks to all of you who take the time and effort to share your cooking experiences with us and to let you know that people really do read and appreciate your blogs.  On the agenda for this week is something I’ve never made from scratch:  Danny’s Mac & Cheese.  Just a note – I plan to add lots & lots of bacon to this, just because.

17 thoughts on “Recipe Reviews – My thank you to those who share

  1. Oh, Honey!!! I am so sorry I left all of those instructions out of the recipe….guess I was in a hurry or something…probably out looking for a beer can and an unsuspecting chicken…tee hee.

    Thanks for the nice words and extra visual from your cooking!!

    Like

    • I truly am the person to do a test run of recipe instructions for people. I seem to be a little bit absentminded & get distracted easily but of course maybe you didn’t realize that I have to shove a lot of things in the oven to play keep away from a plus size dog. Now one thing I may not have mentioned about the beer can chicken – if you’re thinking of doing that with the beer can, you’ll have better luck if the chicken is dead.

      Like

    • I used to go look for recipes out on the food sites but now I just follow bloggers here who I have common tastes with, plus you get to know them which makes it a lot more fun. The way I figure it, is if someone gives me their recipes I’m the one to really put their instructions to the test – if a recipe can get screwed up, I’m the one to do it. Only problem is I’ve got so many recipes to try!

      Like

  2. Diane, which mac ‘n cheese are you referring to? There’s no bacon in the last version so I’m assuming it’s the one with lobster? My favorite is the last one with beef and veggies so if you make that, I’m running over to eat more of it 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

    • Whoa… I missed the one w/lobster. But I plan to make the last one which you used beef & veggies but I’m substituting bacon for ground beef because I have some stray bacon & I crave bacon. Now see, you should be proud of me because you’ve got me confident enough to go ahead & do change ups on recipes. Seriously, I used to be too afraid to change anything in a recipe & then you got me thinking about what to do with bits of leftovers (i.e. green beans which I still think could be made into earrings). You have been a positive influence on me!

      Like

      • Glad I can be of some help! Definitely change things up and try it the way you want. My recipes are really inspiration and thought starters so go at it! I hope you enjoy it!

        Like

    • Thank you for the shout out on your blog, I am honored. You’re right about the food bloggers having passion. I really enjoy the thought process that people use as they make their creations & you get a feel for the type of food they favor. If their tastes coincide with mine, I keep going back to their sites for more. If someone puts jalapeno peppers in everything they eat, I tend not to go there…

      Like

      • I should do a review on Yama except I don’t think there are many people in this area but the Lobster Bomb is the bomb, right? But for those in the Northboro, MA area who love sushi, Yama Zakura is THEE best, freshest sushi around. I’m not sure if I have all the ingredients but it is something like: cucumber, avacado, with chunks of lobster with a very light lemony sauce & caviar on top.

        Like

  3. Diane, we’re laughing about melting butter and walking away to chat; I think we’ve all done things like that. At least it wasn’t our mom’s favorite that you burnt–chocolate. You’re a very kind person to try other recipes and let people know about how much you enjoyed them! xo Berner Girls

    Like

    • I’m the ultimate multi-tasker. Unfortunately I’m also the most absentminded too. Smoke alarms surely do hurt delicate Berner ears so of course first thing was to let the poor Lola outside to get away from that horrible noise. And why can’t they make them with an “I know, I know it’s under control” turn off button?

      Like

Leave a Reply

