Caramelized Onion Pissaladiere

I won’t make you look it up because I already did.  Pissaladiere is basically a pizza without tomato sauce, often called White Pizza.  The dough is a little thicker than regular pizza dough so you get a more bread like dough (Danny this is the recipe I mentioned that is closest to what my mother used to make). As for toppings you can go wild but the base of it is caramelized onion & shallots. We’ll be caramelizing the onions so you need a mountain of them because they really condense and you want enough to cover the entire bottom layer.  Since you don’t have a strong tomato based sauce I think this is ideal for a vegetarian pizza (broccoli, olives, peppers) although I love it with sausage, bacon, pepperoni.

The dough recipe is from Williams-Sonoma, very easy to prep:

Dough:
1     Cup very warm water
1     Package yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)
1     Teaspoon sugar
1     Teaspoon salt
2     Tablespoons olive oil
3     Cups flour – may add another 1/2 cup if dough is sticky

In a large mixing bowl pour warm water then sprinkle yeast and sugar on top.  Let sit for a few minutes then mix yeast in until there are no lumps.  Add salt, olive oil, and 3 cups of flour.  I use the mixer with dough hooks until a ball is formed.  The dough should be stretchy but not sticky.  You can gradually add up to another 1/2 cup of flour if necessary.  Have a large greased bowl ready.  I don’t know why, but this is some kind of rule with the dough – raise the ball a couple feet above the bowl & slam it in, then take it back up w/the greased side in your palm & slam it back into the bowl.  Cover with a cloth & let rise for about 2 hrs.

When the dough has doubled in size, punch it down (lots of violence in this pizza so it’s good to make when you’re having anger management issues), then let it rest for about 15 minutes.  On a floured surface, flatten the dough then roll it out to the size of your pan.  I make this in a cookie pan with raised sides, about 10″x15″.  Sprinkle the pan with cornmeal.  Drape the dough up a little over the sides and drizzle about a tablespoon of oil over the surface.

Caramelized Onion topping

Thinly slice a huge pile of 3 to 4 very large white onions (if you can find Vildalia’s, they’re the best).  You can also add thinly sliced shallots.  In a large heavy skillet, melt 4 tablespoons of butter & 4 tablespoons of olive oil, then add onions.  Sprinkle with about 1 tablespoon of sugar and stir in 2 tablespoons of white wine.  Cook over medium heat until onions become soft.  Raise heat, stirring to evaporate the moisture until onions become golden brown.

Preheat oven to 500°.  Spread the caramelized onions over the oiled dough, then add whatever toppings are handy.  I used a layer of bacon then mushrooms.  Bake for about 12 minutes until crust just starts to lightly brown.  Remove to add cheeses.  I used a combination of shredded Pecorino Romano, Parmesan and Mozzrella.  Put back in the oven for about 5 minutes to melt the cheese, then let pizza set for a few minutes before cutting.

11 thoughts on “Caramelized Onion Pissaladiere

    • Yes I did cook the bacon first, then chopped it & sprinkled all over. When I add vegetables though I don’t cook those. Wish I’d had some broccoli to put on it but I just went with what I had. Now this time I did a combination of the romano & parmesan plus the mozarella & we both liked that better than just doing the parm.

      Like

    • No I think you’re only on 1,740 but I could have missed a couple. Seriously this is a real yeasty tasty dough & I love it. Most of the other recipes I’ve run across just taste like cardboard. Please let me know how you make out with this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

