Couch Reupholstered – she did it (finally)

I have to take a break from my food & travel adventure posts to just let you know that against all odds, I finally finished my couch wrestling competition and I think I won!  I’ve never tried doing this before but after checking out what the cost of reupholstering I got highly motivated.  

I’ll admit this project did start a while ago but I have plenty of excuses/reasons for the delay – very hot humid days (no A/C), waiting for the bleeding to stop after jabbing myself too many times with the screwdriver taking out staples, vacation, moving my daughter into her new apartment, and life.  Life mostly got in the way but I’m trying to come up with as many excuses as possible.  I’d say a couple of months isn’t too bad – is it?  Now I just have to think of some way to celebrate my accomplishment.

32 thoughts on “Couch Reupholstered – she did it (finally)

  1. Aw, thank you but never again & if I ever say anything about doing another project like this, please slap me upside the head. I think it did come out pretty well although I know where the mistakes are (and I’m not saying). I think a celebration’s in order!

    Like

    • Thank you! I agree that the wine is a great idea & I’ll go find the corkscrew now. I won’t spill a thing on this (we actually never even go in that room) however, my dear sweet darling Moe has been testing the durability of the fabric (like he needs a new scratching post!)

      Like

    • I’m not sure what’s going on with furniture these days but I can tell you that I decided to reupholster because this one was very expensive. Once I pulled it apart I was a little surprised to see that the top of the back was a thick rolled piece of cardboard! I guess they figure we’re only going to use things for a few years & throw the stuff out so we can buy new, more expensive furniture.

      Like

    • Mandy, thank you & there was a point where I asked myself what I was doing. I checked on the cost of having it done then decided to try it myself. After I bought the material I thought “oh, oh…I could have just wasted that money if I can’t do it”. So that was definitely a motivating factor.

      Like

  2. It looks lovely! I agree with the “smack on the head” theory of upholstering….too much heavy lifting for me…But, you can look at that item, and know that YOU DID IT!! (just remind the “kids” to stay off of it with all of their collective paws!!)

    Like

    • Ha! Moe has already claimed this as “his” & I’ve noticed some little holes that look like they might have been made with something like…oh, let’s say cat claws. I have a small can of pennies handy for when I hear bad noises – give it a good shake & the feets go flying.

      Like

  3. Looks beautiful! Wow, you are brave. Making a pillow case for a decorative pillow is the hugest project I can possibly take… It will probably require the same amount of time as it took you to finish the couch… that’s if I skip all the hard stuff like zippers or buttons…

    Like

    • I still want to do some toss pillows for it but I can bang those out all day. I love making pillows & they really are pretty easy (plus you can get away w/o doing zippers or buttons). Now my daughter has just moved into her new apartment & I think she has a few projects for me for curtains.

      Like

    • I’m sure in reading your posts that you’ve had projects that once started, you’ve said to yourself…why am I doing this?
      And, by the way I’m waiting now for a kitchen guy to come measure & give me new ideas. The way I see it is if I can’t come up with something that’s really OH WOW! then I’ll go back to island & floor. Huge bucks for a total re-do so I really want to love it.

      Like

      • I am SO, SO excited to see your cabinets! I think I dropped off and didn’t respond, but I adore off-white cabinets!! That’s what mine are! They just don’t date! You can always bring in several kitchen designers and see what their ideas are…or find a pic of a kitchen you love and try to copy it as much as possible 🙂

        Like

      • I just had a kitchen designer here today for 2 hrs. I really liked him, has a great reputation, & some new, interesting ideas about configuration – one in particular involves knocking out a wall (if it can be done) to bring more light into the room. The soffets are going to be history & I’ll take the cabinets to the ceiling w/crown molding. Downside though is that by the time the design is complete & the cabinets finalized, they won’t be made up until probably the end of Oct/beginning of Nov. Then we run into scheduling installers, electricians, flooring around the holidays & getting into winter. I think they can make relatively fast progress but he recommended (and I totally agree) that a spring start date would be best since my washer/dryer would be sitting on the back porch. And good weather I can use the bar-b-q (plus easier to keep the dog out of the work area. Whew…I really think we’re going to go ahead with the total re-do. But I’m excited & I think the extra time will give me a better chance to make color/tile choices w/o feeling pressured. I remember in my old house having the kitchen counters re-tiled in Dec. Bad decision because “Dave the Tile Guy” almost moved in with us – my daughter even asked if he’d be having Christmas dinner with us…NOOOOOO!!!!

        Like

  4. It turned out WONDERFUL! I’m so very impressed!!! Having said that, I cannot even get my head around owning a piece of furniture that is not darker in color than, well, vomit or soda. You are so very brave!

    Like

    • Why thank you & I can tell you I am SO GLAD to have this project done. John kept saying the same thing about color but I wanted to keep the room bright & we don’t even use that room – ever. So Moe has claimed it & I can vacuum the hair off but Lola! ooooh, that girl’s gonna get it – she must have been watching your “running of the beds’ movie because as I was putting the last of the cushions on, all of a sudden she went nuts & did the “running of the couches” – from living room, through the kitchen into the family room, looping back to the living room. I had to tackle her.

      Like

      • Now that I would have loved to see…you tackling her, that is. Bailey does a “couch & ottoman loop” as well. The ottoman in the family room and the couch in the living room (the room WE never use). Unfortunately, even though it has non-slip pads under the feet, the living room couch bangs into the bay window ledge every time he hits it running.

        Like

      • Oh I thought he specialized in beds but I guess he’s quite versatile. Although Lola is in the working class of dogs rather than herding, just about every night she pushing the kitchen chairs, just so. She originally started that w/our old cat Riki Tiki who used to sit at one of the chairs so he could get a good look at ‘what’s for dinner’. Little Miss Jealous would push his chair out to the middle of the room (while he was sitting on it) so he’d end up a good 3′ away from the table…”Job Done!”

        Like

      • Believe it or not, she does it just with her nose. One day I came home to find all my kitchen chairs “arranged” in a cluster in the middle of the kitchen. Now I know they weren’t that way when I left so my first thought was BURGLAR! Once I realized it was just chairs & that most burglars wouldn’t come in just to rearrange furniture I figured out the culprit.

        Like

  5. I have to say it looks even better in person if that’s possible! So proud of you…now want to come decorate my apartment? I think I remember you saying you like making curtains? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

