Succulent Storm Scones

Well, the Boston area survived Hurricane Sandy with minimal damages and just spotty power outages, unlike New Jersey and New York which still resemble Venice.  We lost power for just a few hours when a transformer blew up down the street but lucked out because it happened pre-storm so the work crews were just hanging around looking for something to fix.  Today we’re just starting in on a very bitterly cold Nor’Easter that’s already causing accidents everywhere with winds that should be picking up later tonight.

The storm that I am most happy to have behind us though is the election!  Seriously, did anyone enjoy any of that?  I think it got to the point where no one even cared who won – just get it over, stop the ads and stop the endless phone calls.  For those of you overseas, we do have a “Do Not Call List” but conveniently politicians exempted themselves from that restriction.  To all politicians:  Do you REALLY thing that annoying me on the phone is going to make me vote FOR you or perhaps vote for the person who leaves me in peace?  Believe me if we weren’t in a dead spot for cell phone reception, we would have gotten rid of the landline long ago – 8 to 10 calls every day for the past 2 months is a bit much and frankly didn’t influence my decision in any way.  It was nice hearing from Bill Clinton though – glad you’re doing well.  Frankly I thought Pat Boone was dead, but guess he’s still “writing love letters in the sand” and thoughtfully called me.

The one call I really did appreciate though was from Matt Damon 

who not only urged me to vote but left a phone number for me to call if I needed a ride. I didn’t call him yesterday, but thought I might give him a call today to see if he wanted to go for a drive and hang out a bit.  So, now that the phones are quiet today I can finally concentrate on completing a sentence and would like to convince you to vote for whipping up a batch of these excellent scones.  Up until I found this recipe, I’d only tried a scone once in my life and wasn’t sure if I was eating a dog biscuit or a hockey puck.  These are unbelievably moist and you can add any type of fruit or nut to make your mouth happy.

CREAM SCONES

2 ½     Cups flour
2          Teaspoons baking powder
1          Teaspoon baking soda
½         Cup sugar
1           Stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter (cold, cut into pieces)
½         Cup sour cream
¼         Cup heavy cream
1          Egg
Chopped pecans
Blueberries

Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, and sugar in mixer or food processor bowl.  Add in pieces of butter until mixture is crumbly.  Mix in sour cream and egg, then pour heavy cream on top and blend until dough becomes sticky.  Add nuts and blueberries by hand.

Lay parchment paper on baking sheet and place scone mixture in the middle, smoothing it out until it’s about 1 or 1 1/4″ thick.  Bake in preheated 400° oven for about 30 minutes or until top is golden & toothpick comes clean.

34 thoughts on “Succulent Storm Scones

  1. these scones look terrific!! the pecans and blueberries looks like a wonderful combination!
    would the recipe still work as well if the scones were cut into circles before they were baked??
    thanks! 🙂

    Like

  2. I am sorry mother nature has been so wicked lately but glad you are okay. Despite the obstacles you make one fantastic fruity scone. Don’t feel like you are alone. Even all the way in HK the politicians this week felt the urge to give me rings at 2am and they were not from Matt Damon.

    Like

    • Are you kidding me?!!? I’m not sure whether I’m more flattered by Matt calling me or insulted that they looked at our demographics & decided that Pat Boone would rock my boat. Do you know that only 1 call was from an actual person & that was for the state senate race.

      Like

  3. I love cooking/baking in bad nasty weather, as long as we have the power. The scones look so yummy… mmmm with a nice hot cup of coffee. I agree.. I’m glad the madness has stopped with the calls and ads.. enough! But, wait, I got that call from Matt too. I had him go to the pharmacy to get me some med for this nasty cold I got. What? He offered.

    Like

    • We got lucky again on this storm & only ended up with a few inches of snow but boy is it still blowing out there. I guess I’m just not quite ready for winter yet – not a huge fan of the cold but it does keep me inside in the kitchen more.
      Hope you try these scones, they’re very moist & love them with a nice cup of coffee in the morning.

      Like

  4. Ooh, now this is my kind of recipe – I LOVE scones and have some cream sitting in the fridge waiting to go into something – scones it is. 😀 Think I will bake them individually though – hope they work as well.
    Oh heavens, so many call s a day, think I would leave my phone off the hook – what a pain – think that would be enough to make me not vote!
    Have a super peaceful weekend.
    🙂 Mandy

    Like

    • Hope you enjoy them. No reason not to make individual balls & smoosh them down a bit – warning, the dough is very sticky but I think that’s why they’re so moist after baking. Believe me, if I weren’t expecting REAL calls that phone would have been disconnected a month ago. It is truly amazing since the election – nice & quiet…well if I could only get “Rachel from cardholder services” to stop nagging me.

      Like

  5. Diane, you definitely should give Damon a call and take him up on that offer — maybe even his buddy Ben can help out 🙂 Your scones sound wonderful — wish I had some right now 🙂

    Like

    • Do you think he’d be okay with taking me to see that Denzel Washington movie tonight?
      I have to admit that I had no idea what I was doing with those scones & almost threw the batter out because it’s the stickiest, goopiest mess before you cook it up. But then…ah!

      Like

      • Maybe he would take you to SkyFall since I hear it has elements of the Bourne movies which he starred in at one time 🙂 glad you stuck with the recipe – love it when you get a great result after thinking it’s going to be something else!

        Like

  6. Those look delicious! I’ve never HAD a good scone experience, and I am certainly due for one, I think. Nothing dramatic, just the “hard as a rock” consistency that you referred to.

    We also got SO many phone calls, here in Central PA. Using caller ID, we didn’t answer them, but, for some reason, I never thought to turn down the answering machine, so we LISTENED to them all. Ugh.

    Like

    • I don’t know why but it just popped into my brain that I’d really like these biscotti dipped in chocolate that I used to get. I can’t remember the name but I’d know the package if I saw it & they’re great dipped in coffee.
      Oh, PA…yes I hear you not only got hit w/the phone calls but the ads too. I’d have unplugged the phone but was expecting some calls however as soon as one started, I’d pick up & hang up so it wouldn’t record. So tell me, did it sway you one way or another after hearing all the pitches? Long ago when they used to have people call I told a guy running for sheriff that I was keeping a list of who was calling me & anyone who disturbed me would be getting my vote – for the other guy. He was really perplexed that I wouldn’t want to hear from him & asked how he could talk to me. Ummm, did you ever think I just don’t want to talk to you? But the auto robo calls are something I think they play over & over in Abu Graib.

      Like

      • I was totally wishing someone would make a political phone call recording that said something like, “I’ve know Joe Smith for twenty years, and I can tell you that he’s a real son of a b*tch….paid for by Bob Jones for Congress”

        Like

      • ROFLMAO (did I get that right?)… I think you & I have the same sense of humor & I would have been thrilled to have gotten at least one honest call. But it’s over so now I just get Rachel from Cardholder Services – why does she have a different phone number every day?
        By the way, love Bailey’s eyes – are you able to sleep at night?

        Like

    • Thank you for the good thoughts, much appreciated. When we get these storms I never know if I should start cooking & end up with a raw roast or half baked cake in the over or just do take out. Hard to tell out here because sometimes we lose power w/just a mild wind & other times we go through a hurricane & still keep power.

      Like

  7. Matt Damon – he’s one of my favourite actors – he’s Bourne after all, and who hasn’t daydreamed about drop-kicking their boss Bourne-style every now and again? Or is it just me…

    Like

    • I don’t think it’s just you. Who hasn’t had that dream although I did work at a place where one guy finally had it & followed through. Unfortunately although the punch-ee deserved it, the punch-er almost lost his job. If he weren’t the best programmer in the entire company he would have (helps to be really good at what you do before you punch the boss in the face).

      Like

  8. Those scones look extra delicious. I’ll have to get my person to make me some. And she says she’s jealous that Matt Damon didn’t call her. I guess he doesn’t have time to give rides to everybody. The only famous people to call here were politicians, and like you she is really glad those phone calls have stopped.

    Like

Leave a Reply

