Prosciutto Wrapped Stuffed Chicken – over to you Niki

We had a little leak in our kitchen faucet, no big deal. I gave my husband the perfect out to not bother with it since I hope in a few months we’ll be re-doing the entire kitchen, sink & all.  But….

broken faucet 001

I had no idea that John was going to go ahead and “fix” the leak so when I heard all kinds of banging going on downstairs I swung by to see what was happening.  It went like this:

John:  “Damn spigot broke right off in my hand”
Me:  “Ummm, do you think the hammer might have had something to do with it?”

Since this project was started on a Sunday and Home Depot, Lowe’s and Ace didn’t carry this part and since the plumbing supply places are closed on Sundays, well…why don’t we just swing by Niki’s place and see what’s happening in her kitchen.
————-

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all enjoyed your holidays. I have to say I not only enjoyed the holidays, I ate like the world was ending (alas, that didn’t happen so I need to do a little more running and boot camp – thanks a lot Mayans!).  December is fairly quiet in public relations –  journalists are starting to wrap up their stories for the year and go on vacation as well as many of our clients. Because of this “slow time” I am lucky enough to get a week and a half off at Christmastime. I had planned on making all kinds fabulous dinners that I found on Pinterest and I swore to my nutritionist that I didn’t have ANY issues because I don’t go to many holiday parties. Boy was I wrong!!!

Not only do I enjoy holiday parties, my birthday also falls in December along with three of my very good friends, Julie, Colleen and another Colleen. That’s cause for lots of celebration and needless to say I found myself beside a lot of cheese platters and dips over the month of December.

While I enjoyed all the festivities, some of my favorites included an impromptu mini vacation to Florida with my friend Taylor, a birthday ride on the Polar Express with the Murphys, many special birthday drink celebrations with friends and my first Christmas in Brighton that included skating on the famous Frog Pond in the Boston Common with my terrific boyfriend Tim.

Frog Pond

Frog Pond

All of that was topped with a fun New Year’s Eve celebration in Boston with my college friends and a special celebrity appearance by Tim’s brother Dan from Chicago.

Needless to say, when my girlfriends in Boston wanted to get together for the weekend we were all looking for a low-key night to hangout and not eat in a restaurant. I proposed the idea of having a potluck dinner at my apartment and a movie night. Of course all the girls wanted to know what I would be making to allow them to make appropriate sides to go with the main dish. I wanted to try something new and I stumbled upon a recipe for chicken wrapped in Prosciutto.  I also found a recipe with chicken stuffed with basil and cheese wrapped in Prosciutto. I decided to combine these two recipes and put my own twist on it. 

Stuffed Chicken Wrapped in Prosciutto
Chicken breasts (6)

proscuitto wrapped chick

One package of shredded mozzarella cheese
One bunch of fresh basil
3-5 shallots
3 garlic cloves
1 lemon
Olive oil
12 slices of Prosciutto

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Slice garlic and set aside
  3. Chop shallots and basil and mix together in a bowl, set aside
  4. Lay out prosciutto so it’s easier to deal withwrapping chicken
  5. Take one breast and with a sharp knife cut into the side of the chicken breast
  6. Put  2 slices of the prosciutto down on the cutting board
  7. Put the chicken breast on top of the prosciutto
  8. Put a few slices of garlic on one side of the chicken then add some of the basil mixture on top and finally top the basil shallot mixture with a sprinkle of mozzarella cheesestuffing chicken
  9. Then fold over the chicken flap and start rolling the chicken in the prosciutto
  10. Finally put the chicken in an oiled baking dish and repeat the process for as many chicken breasts as you have
  11. Squeeze one half of a lemon over the chicken and top the chicken with a little bit of olive oil
  12. Put the chicken in the oven for 35-40 minutes.

Side Dishes – Roasted  Veggies
2 zucchinis
2 summer squashes
3 shallots
Italian seasonings
Salt pepper
2 Tablespoons butter

  1. Chop zucchinis and squash and shallots
  2. Put in a skillet with 2 tablespoons of butter
  3. Dress with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper
  4. Sprinkle with your favorite Italian seasoning

Hope you enjoy! Happy New Year to all!

19 thoughts on “Prosciutto Wrapped Stuffed Chicken – over to you Niki

  1. The only place a do it yourself home repair goes as planned is on television, Diane. I hope you’ve got ia all sorted by now.
    This recipe sounds delicious. Love it when prosciutto gets a bit crispy in the oven and you cannot go wrong adding mozzarella cheese to just about anything.

    Like

    • Yes, we now have kitchen plumbing but my husband had to leave work early to get to a plumbing supply store for the part. You are correct about do it yourself repairs which is why I think we’ll have a rule about never, ever starting a project (no matter how simple it looks) on a Sunday.
      I’m not sure how you can go wrong with prosciutto or mozzarella either.

      Like

  2. Seems your John and my Pete would get along famously… 😀
    Good for you letting your hair down over the holidays – that’s what they are all about – food, food, food, oh hand on, food, family and friends.
    Here’s to 2013 being a fantabulous year for us all.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

    • Frankly Niki’s always been a better chef & much more creative. John? in the kitchen? cooking? handyman? Come onnnnn Judy! I’d call our Mr. Fixit/plumbing friend who finished installing the disposal that John couldn’t quite figure out but I’m not sure he’d come back. Last time he was under the kitchen sink & Moe, kitten at the time, jumped on the back of his neck & kinda whacked his head on the pipes pretty hard.

      Like

  3. Ahh… Home repair…the joys of home improvement. Well your sink does look different now that is for sure! Do you have water yet? I am glad you got things under control as that chicken looks just delicious with a super yummy side dish as well. What would our lives be like if there was not some daily drama to add to the mix. Wishing you and your appliances a good year. Take care, BAM

    Like

    • Oh man oh man, do I have water – it’s coming out everywhere – but at least there’s a new spigot on. I’ve wrapped a towel around it & begged my husband to not fix it again.
      I have to say that finding a plumber is the hardest thing around here yet since one thing or another is always leaking I should have one on retainer.
      I have to agree that the chicken looks like a winner – you wrap prosciutto around anything & I’ll eat it.

      Like

  4. Cheese and basil and chicken — yum! Hooray for turning to Niki when the sink falls apart (or, um, gets hammered apart, rather) — and hooray for putting your own twist on the recipes! Thanks for sharing another honest and funny and uplifting post.

    Like

    • 🙂 I had a bad feeling when I heard banging – usually when I’ve had real plumbers in here to fix things I’ve never noticed a sledge hammer on their tool belts. Granted we do have hard water which corrodes everything but still…

      Like

  5. Your blog is on my regular rounds, but I missed this one apparently. I feel your husband’s pain on the whole spigot breaking off thing. Notice all of that rust at the breaking point? Not hubby’s fault. 😉

    Like

    • I know, I know which is exactly what he pointed out. We’ve got hard water which is probably why the bottom of the garbage disposal just fell out one day. Water softener is my suggestion but I swear this man likes pain.

      Like

Leave a Reply

