Stuffed Artichokes – the lazy way

Have you gone through slumps where you just can’t figure out what you want to eat, never mind cook? With the hot and incredibly humid air we’ve had here for the past couple of weeks, I haven’t felt like doing either. Niki was at the house the other day making a grocery list because she doesn’t have a Wegman’s near her & always takes the opportunity to get over there when she’s out this way. I guess it’s like eating at someone else’s house or going to a restaurant when someone puts a great meal in front of you and kick starts your appetite because as she made her list, all of a sudden everything sounded good. I felt like I was cheating on a test but as she made her list I just copied it down. When she got to artichokes I realized that I haven’t made stuffed artichokes in a very long time.

IMG_0915

A lot of recipes tell you to clip the prickly points from each leaf and to open the artichoke up to pull out the choke.  Me?  Nah…if you want my stuffed artichokes you have to live dangerously.  I just par boil them until the bottom petal just starts to pull away, then let them drain.  For the stuffing I just pull each petal gently away and sprinkle in some bread crumbs, then plenty of grated parmesan cheese and finish off with a small drizzle of olive oil.  Put in an oiled baking dish and pop in the oven until the cheese has melted.

If I’m serving this to someone who might not have ever tried stuffed artichokes before I now give a little lesson after realizing a guest was trying to masticate the entire leaf (yes, prickles and all).  If you’ve never tried these, just pull each leaf off & run your teeth down the leaf, grabbing all the breadcrumbs and melted cheese and bite off just the soft tip at the end.  When you get to the artichoke heart, just cut away the soft heart and leave the choke…so you don’t choke.

24 thoughts on “Stuffed Artichokes – the lazy way

    • Oh Judy you would love these & they’re easy. Just think of all that melted cheese over the breadcrumbs…yum.
      Is the air heavy enough today? The floors feel soaking wet & I’m sticking to everything.

      Like

    • I’m looking for anything easy with this weather. Of course you’re opposite us & probably looking for ‘warm’ foods although I would take those pastries you had on your blog in any kind of weather.

      Like

  1. It’s been ages since I’ve stuffed a large artichoke, Diane. They are so good and your method is easy but I bet so tasty. For me, it’s all about location, I’m afraid. The poor things are located right next to the baby artichokes in my market. I may go into the store thinking large artichokes but I leave with a bag of small ones — every time! It’s so unfair! I’ve made a mental note of your fantastic artichoke photo. Next time I’m heading to buy artichokes, I hope the memory of that photo will help me to walk passed the babies and go large!

    Like

    • You know I don’t think I’ve ever seen the baby artichokes at my market. You’re so kind John – if you do grab the jumbo’s don’t forget to get a nice chunk of fresh parmesan – got to have nice globs of melted parm.

      Like

    • That’s right, you did have your share of them. Of course having dinner here just about any night probably included these since it was the staple of Niki’s diet. I’m so glad that you remember them.

      Like

  2. These sound so delicious! I’ve never had stuffed artichokes — only the steamed ones grandma used to make and let us dip in mayo. Yours sound SO much better, though any kind is a sort of comfort food that brings me back to my childhood. Actually, I just remembered that whenever my grandma would make artichokes, my grandpa would jestingly ask me, “You know how artichokes got their name? A guy named Arty choked on one!” Hardy har har!

    Like

    • I used to just steam them too & dip in Béarnaise sauce but then once my daughter found out about artichokes stuffed w/all that melted cheese, it was all she wanted to eat. Seems like we had them every other night.
      Aren’t grandpa’s great…I think I saw that one coming because mine might have said the same thing.

      Like

    • Glad you like them. When my daughter was young & lived on mac & cheese I finally figured out that I could get her to eat just about anything if it had cheese on it. Plus kids love any food they can eat with their fingers.

      Like

    • I just love simple when we’re in the middle of hot muggy weather. You know I can’t remember ever having artichokes when I was a kid. It was probably too extravagant back then.
      Kitchen? Let’s see, I’ve got a design and floor plan that I love and this past week, the designer has had her subcontractors in for quotes. I got a rough estimate on the tiles for the floor…yikes! We do have a lot of floor to cover but of course the biggest hit will be on the cabinets. It’s unbelievable what this runs to and then you have all the smaller things like new sinks, faucets, door handles, lighting under the cabinets and over the island. My poor husband is having second thoughts about retiring this year. But what can you do – the kitchen is the biggest selling feature and at some point we’re going to have to downsize. My neighbor across the street has had her house on the market for about a month and the comments so from potential buyers is that the kitchen looks dated.

      Like

    • Yeah, it’s hard to hold the little leaf with paws but as my guest found out, no matter how much you chew those leaves, they just don’t want to get chewed up. Best for puppies to stay away from them.

      Like

    • I never did either because every recipe I saw said that I had to clip the tips of every stinking leaf, then reach in & twist the choke out of the middle. Not for me…that’s how I came to this way which is every man for himself. I’ll fix them up & leave it up to the eater to not get pricked with those pointy ends & not make the mistake of eating the choke. I guess I’m not Martha Stewart who I’m sure would make sure her dinner companions would never have to deal with the ugly parts of artichokes.

      Like

  3. I love artichoke especially when someone else makes it for me! Regarding “Going through slumps where you can’t figure out what you want to eat, never mind cook?” I must be strange because I go through that slump almost every day!

    Like

    • I would never argue if someone wanted to make them for me either …. ahem, like my daughter. I think I’ve been in that slump for so long now that I’m wondering if it’s permanent so I don’t think you’re strange at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

