Kitchen Renovation Week 1 and Why Would I Panic

Just because the entire shipment of tiles (over 550 square feet)  was smashed?  Yes, I got that news yesterday while I was waiting for the crew to come take away the dishwasher and stove.  All is resolved now with a change in tiles and I just heard that the new tiles have arrived in 18″x18″ pieces instead of 1″ mosaics.

The end of week 1 looks like this:

IMG_1041

IMG_1042

I’m kind of getting used to living in the foyer (coffee pot and microwave) and the dining room (I guess it’s still the dining room, just with a few piles of boxes.

IMG_1043

IMG_1045

Today, the circular saw is going, cutting out the subfloor and with any luck, the majority of the tiles will be down by Friday.  Not sure about that since the floor guy left at 2:30 with only half the floor cut away, but I’ll have faith for now.

28 thoughts on “Kitchen Renovation Week 1 and Why Would I Panic

    • Please keep telling me that! I’m kind of getting used to being able to get to everything in a few steps although having the refrigerator in the living room isn’t the most convenient. But after eating, it’s kind of nice to just turn around & toss all the leftovers & paper plates in the trash behind me. And why do they have to keep tormenting me with that circular saw? All it does is remind me I have a dentist appointment coming up!

      Like

      • We still have paper plates left over from our kitchen make over. And plastic wine glasses. They are brilliant. Haven’t broken a glass in a couple of years!

        Like

      • I’ll be very surprised if I don’t break the glass coffee pot in the bathroom sink…probably don’t have plastic coffee pots though. Tell me the truth- at what point did you start to pack your suitcase, grab the kids and go to a hotel?

        Like

    • Yup, ALL… the entire shipment and the next container of that tile is on a ship at sea, 3 weeks out. So once I got my husband home to wait for the appliance removal I dashed over to the tile store & picked out the same tile but in a lighter shade (can’t wait for mud season, but no way could I delay 3 weeks).

      Like

  1. You have got to be kidding. Unbelievable. Take a deep breath.. all will end up great.. it’s just a bump in the road…. speaking of road.. you ready for a road trip yet?.. or maybe lunch?

    Like

  2. Judy I am so ready for a road trip but I don’t dare leave. At least not until this tile is down and the cabinets are started. I feel so bad for Lola who is freaked out by the invasion and Moe, well Moe hides under the bed all day. I think I’ll join Moe.

    Like

    • I have a feeling that whoever packed that tile shipment might be looking for a different line of work right now. I was extremely lucky to be able to order the same tile, just in a lighter shade. Plus the good news is that the shipment came in and they’ve checked – no breakage!

      Like

  3. Dear Diane,
    I am hoping that week 2 goes a little smoother. You know how the construction workers are??? Like that was even shocking that they screwed up your order? LOL (Well at least for the most part they speak English.. or not) Take a deep breath and prepare your nerves for the rest of the renovation. Life is good with a coffee maker and a microwave. However, I think you need to look for that shaker and stirrer in your boxes as you might need something a little stronger than coffee to get you through the renovation. Hugs, BAM

    Like

    • The owner of the tile & marble place is from the “old country” but speaks English very well. My installer, eh…a little difficult so when he packed up at 2:30 yesterday after doing just part of the take up and said “Maybe I come back tomorrow, I would like, but don’t know”, you know I was on the phone before he got out of the driveway. Got that all squared away since it was a misunderstanding that Dante had told him he might be needed on another job but that got taken care of & I’ve had the tile guy since 8:30 this morning.
      Where did I put the booze? Should never have let my husband pack any boxes!

      Like

  4. Every project has a hiccup, Diane, and you’ve just experienced yours. (I say that with a shudder. I’ve a construction project starting soon.) I hope you’ll be happy with the new tiles and that you’ll be in your new kitchen right on schedule. And I agree with BAM. You must have something a little stronger than coffee around. This is not the time to save it. 🙂

    Like

    • I think you’re right & let’s face it, I don’t think anything could be worse than your entire shipment of tiles getting smashed. I think I’ll like the new ones just as much & have already put the old ones out of my brain – poof! Never saw them, goodbye.
      Now what will be your construction project? Are you also redoing your kitchen?

      Like

      • Sorry, Diane, I didn’t realize you’d asked a question of me. No, my work her will not be nearly as disruptive as a kitchen remodel. I live in a two flat and I’m having the two back porches and the stairs that connect the floors torn down and replaced. All of the work will be outdoors, just beyond our kitchen doors. Max will go nuts for the 3 weeks. Not only will he be barred from the yard, there will be strangers working on the other side of the wall that his crate lies against. I’ve yet to figure out what do do about him. Still, as I said, this is nothing like your kitchen remodel. All of the dust and workmen will remain outdoors. In fact, our kitchen doors will be closed and sealed to prevent someone from falling.

        Like

      • It’s too bad you can’t bring Max to work with you. I think the hardest part of this project has been shifting Lola from room to room/area to area and her barking at the workers. It seems that just as she gets used to the smell and sound of one, another shows up. I finally asked each person if they’d mind just letting her get a smell of them before getting her out of their way. I imagine Max will be the same way. From their viewpoint, it’s their jobs to protect you and the house. To be behind a door with an intruder and not being able to do anything about it is beyond their comprehension. We have an underground fence for about 2 acres for Lola that covers the back and a field but she’s not supposed to go out the front. With the tile going in the back hall she’s had to go out the front door. I thought that was fine except I didn’t realize the tile guy had the back doors open…and yes, she went out the front door, came in the back skidding through the wet cement they had just spread. Sigh…

        Like

    • Glenda, it’s awkward at best but I have to say that all of the crews who have come through have been very good. My animals are more traumatized than I am & I feel so bad for my dog who can’t figure out why I’m not letting her ‘protect’ her house. Most of the guys have loved her & don’t mind but the tile installer is terrified of her so the poor girl is locked in a bedroom. The cat – don’t know where he’s hiding.
      I’ve got the end pictures posted on the wall & it does make me smile.

      Like

  5. And breathe!
    And pour another glass of wine!
    And breathe!
    You need nerves of steel to do renovations Diane! It will all be perfect in the end, just a little ageing in the process.
    And pour another glass of wine!
    Have a lovely day friend.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

    • Mandy can I start the wine at 8:30 am? Do you think that’s a little too early or should I wait until 9:00?
      Today is going smoothly & the subfloor is all up. I think we’re on track, maybe a day behind. Okay, I’m breathing.

      Like

    • Thanks so much & I will LOVE when this project is over! I really thought I was going to lose it be the 5th day of not having a floor! The dust was pretty bad but the noise of them cutting the tiles – omg! All it did was remind me that I have a dentist appointment coming up.

      Like

    • Thank you & I’m hoping that the worst is over, that being the tile floor. Since the floor flows from the kitchen, down 2 hallways and out to the back door it was definitely the hardest to live with. That, plus the incredible dust & noise of tile cutting had me cowering in the back of the closet whimpering. Seems like we’ve had one more little glitch – the kitchen sink is defective and we didn’t realize it until the granite cutter came to make the template. I’m a little on edge hoping that the replacement comes in by Friday & this new one isn’t defective too. Fingers crossed…but yes, I’m really starting to see the project come together and looking forward to the final product.

      Like

Leave a Reply

