51 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – November 2013

  1. Wow.. what a change from my visit two weeks ago. No, it was a week ago. That granite looks beautiful with those cabinets. Did you forget to mention that after Lola slid through the cement, she ate the floor guy’s lunch? She’s such a diva. It’s come a long way… there is a light at the end of the tunnel.. or is that an oncoming train? LOL!

    Like

    • Amazing isn’t it Judy? Once we got that floor down and the cabinets started going in, it made a huge difference. Oh yeah, I did forget about the poor tile guy’s lunch – he should have known not to leave a sandwich hanging around right? I think I do see a light but maybe I’m just so tired I’m hallucinating.

      Like

    • I think everyone will be glad when the kitchen’s done & we can start having real meals again. That cat – nah, he’s not happy about much other than kitty treats. Starbucks logo? Ooops did I say I took a picture of it? I meant to say some crazy lady walked in and took a picture.

      Like

    • Thanks Glenda & I can’t wait until I can post the final results. I spend time in there now trying to figure where I’m going to put things since the cabinet configuration’s different from the old one and the refrigerator’s in a different place. The thing is, I’d love to ask my husband to help but I need to know exactly where everything is so would rather do it myself.

      Like

  2. Very nice. I love the dark island cabinets the white wall cabinets. We are thinking of redoing a few things in our kitchen, but you make me very, very afraid of the chaos. And the bills! At least we don’t have a Lola to get in the way. Our cat probably would be less disruptive. 😉 The scene with her and the cement seemed like it could have been right out of a sitcom or movie. Never a dull moment, I’m sure. Nice job on the costume, too!

    Like

    • Thanks Sarah and I’m so happy we went with coordinating rather than matching cabinets. I think it sets off the island which I want to be the focal point. It is an intimidating project which just started as only replacing the floor. But in our area, you really need to have an updated kitchen and granite countertops for resale. The countertops was the deciding factor because after thinking it over, once that granite was dropped on you’re stuck with the cabinets underneath. One suggestion though is to set aside a misc. add-on/unexpected budget (we did about 5% of the project). It depends on the job, but you never know what they’re going to find once they open up walls. In our case we just realized that the stove vent going outside will hit the drainpipe so that has to be moved now. Always going to be things that you can’t predict.
      As for Lola, I agree it’s like a scene from a movie except if it were in a movie people would think ‘eh – that’s too predictable, of course the dog’s going to run through the wet cement”.

      Like

    • I’ve got a friend who was in the Air Force who suggested that we put landing lights along the sides of that island. He’s convinced he could land at least a Piper Cub on there.
      What new interface? I don’t think I’ve seen that yet.

      Like

    • Oh yes, I’ll have 2 stools without backs on the ends and 3 with backs in the center. I really like that the designer bumped out the end of the island near the stove so I can have a seat & work back and forth between the stove/counters & island.

      Like

      • Perfect! I always end up at the bench on a stool, makes cooking marathons all the more comfortable!

        Like

  3. Diane, who would have thought it was so hard to find a Starbucks logo! You’ve done a great job with the costume! The kitchen is looking fabulous, although I can just imagine your reaction when Lola had dragged her butt through the wet cement! A nice big sink is a bonus, but you sure had to work hard for it! 🙂 Thanks for you kind words – I’ve put you down as USA in the listing as I wasn’t sure what state you’re in, is that ok?

    Like

    • I was surprised at what I went through trying to get a Starbucks logo too – you’d think they’d like people using it but I guess only if you pay them. I’m telling you Celia, only Lola could skid through the cement & to think that we’d get through doing the floor without a mishap would be silly since she the REASON we had to do the floor! Back when she was a puppy, she ate a big chunk out of the old vinyl which I’ve been hiding with a throw rug for years.
      Thanks for listing me in any manner 🙂 I’m in Massachusetts in a teeny little town outside of Boston.

      Like

  4. WOW! I can’t wait for the Kitchen Warming Party! LOL! The island looks fabu. Love the Cat Sink…not ever seen one of those at the Kitchen and Bath Store…maybe an upgrade, yes?…All of my true coffee drinking friends call it “CharBucks”…there’s a logo, eh? I’ve always wanted to go as blunt force trauma on Halloween, but not sure how to pull off that costume..next year, I’ll just come to your house for ideas and costume wizardry!!! Love the new kitchen. When do you get to actually USE it?

    Like

    • I’m already thinking of the menu Susan. I can tell you that Moe’s not so interested in that sink now that the faucet’s hooked up! Cats are funny about bringing new stuff into a house – they of course assume it’s all for them so before the granite went on, he was in every single top drawer seeing which was the best place for a bed. I think within 2 weeks we’ll have a useable kitchen but there’s going to be finish work like the crown molding, backsplash tiles & wall painting. Then the return of the dishes! I’ve got to have a plan for that because once I’ve got stuff put back I doubt it’ll move again until we do.
      We’ll brainstorm some costumes for you for next year. Just don’t make me go out to find any logos please.

      Like

      • And you thought the renovation was the tough part – just wait til you start to put it all back together!! It can be maddening when you are used to having things in a certain place, and you have to rethink all of those places! What fun!!!

        Like

      • I spend a little time each day trying to envision how I’ll be working in there and what I need within reach. I’m lucky in that I have a big pantry that I can put things in if I’m undecided. Funny how just moving the fridge changes the flow of things. My daughter was visiting Sunday and wanted to start putting things away. Had to stop her until at least all of the cabinets got in. But at least I can start to put the shelf liners in.

        Like

  5. Glad to see things are moving and, what’s done in your kitchen, looks great, Diane. I’m sure you’re going to be very happy with it all, once finished. Lola and the fresh cement gave me a chuckle but I didn’t have to clean up after her. The granite you chose is beautiful and will really brighten up your kitchen. And, by the way, though I think your daughter’s costume was great, I, too, hate the coffee. It always tastes burnt to me. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks John & yes, a finished kitchen is my dream. Of course Lola had to go through the wet cement. Now we know that her footprints are permanently imprinted on the Durarock under the tiles which is only fitting since she’s the reason for the new floor (her puppy floor eating episode made a new floor a must). My friend Judy also reminded me of what Lola did the next day to the tile guy – he was eating lunch out on the rock in the back yard when he saw her coming for the back door. He jumped up to close the door but her real mission was to snag his sandwich – no lunch for tile guy.
      I was really please with the granite too. It has a lot of movement and variety going on so I have some black that picks up the island, some browns for the lighter cabinet’s dark brown glazing & there’s some pinkish red in there that I can pick up w/kitchen accessories.
      My daughter tells me that nobody actually likes Starbucks plain coffee & you only buy they’re mocha/grande/latte/whatevers. I wasn’t sure what it was about their plain coffee that I didn’t like but you’ve got it with that burnt taste – exactly right.

      Like

    • Thanks Joanne & I do appreciate those hugs. I really love how much progress is made each day now that cabinets and appliances are going in. Things like the floor & ceiling are just boring and take so much time. Now we’re getting to the fun stuff. You’d think something like cabinet hardware wouldn’t be a big deal, but I just saw the silver handles on the black island & I love it!

      Like

  6. I was just thinking of you this morning and wondering how the kitchen was coming along (and knowing you must be busy with it). Your pets fit right it adorably, and the kitchen (and your daughter) are looking gorgeous! Three sinks and hundreds of broken tiles later, it will be worth every chaotic and hilarious moment!

    Like

    • Oh the past couple of weeks have been crazy and just as I’d sit down to update my blog and catch up reading everyone else’s, something would pop up. I’m so behind on reading but can finally get some time to see what’s going on with everyone.
      Can you believe that I’m still waiting for authorization to return those 2 sinks? This is a major on line retailer who guarantees 100% customer satisfaction. I guess that’s not the policy when you get something drop shipped from one of their distributors though & I’m really getting annoyed with them. I just want to clean up & get anything out that I don’t need.

      Like

    • And thank you! Before you know it, I’ll be baking like crazy…well after I figure out how my new oven works. It’s both a regular and convection oven plus it’s a dehydrator too. I know I’ll have to adjust cooking time to use the convection, but it should save on electricity.

      Like

  7. Oh dear, poor Lola – it’s not her fault that she came in the door she is supposed to. It must have been quite something getting that all cleaned up Diane. The kitchen is already looking fabulous! It is going to be wonderful in the end and the headaches will be worth it.
    I do love kitty sitting in the sink – not sure any of ours would take a chance like that.
    Starbucks really sound pedantic. Well done on getting the logo for your beautiful daughters costume.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

    • No, we can’t blame Lola for doing what she’s been trained to do. She did get even the next day though when the tile guy was sitting on the hill having his lunch. He saw her coming & jumped up to close the doors and she ate his lunch!
      Moe hasn’t been as interested in the kitchen sink now that the faucet is hooked up but aren’t cats funny with anything that looks like a box. Before the granite went on, he tried out every single drawer – testing for comfort and size I guess.

      Like

    • Thank you but I can only take credit for the construction of the costume. The idea was completely my daughter’s brainstorm. I do have plenty of great kitchen space although with all the boxes and tools in there it does seem a bit crowded.

      Like

  8. It is so fun to see your kitchen finally transforms and love those dark cabinets they. Are they cherry wood? It is funny how your little furry friends are starting to find their way around the the new space, i know my little Buddy would be a littler terror if I had that going on in my home. I cannot wait to see those granite countertops in place. I would love to come to your new kitchen and cook as you have such a great space. Mom you did quite well on that last minute starbucks outfit. Take Care, BAM

    Like

    • All of the cabinets are maple, painted and glazed. We almost went with cherry for the island but I liked the black and white contrast, plus cherry is a soft wood. With people sitting at the island I think it would have gotten banged up. Granite is now in place and I love it – I also love having a countertop to set things on. At least if Buddy went through wet cement the footprints would be a lot smaller. No, wait, he’d probably get stuck in it!
      Thanks on the costume. At least she decided on an easy one this year. If you ever fly into Boston, I’ll come pick you up and we’ll have a grand time!

      Like

    • It really is exciting Barbara – I just can’t wait until it’s complete or at least complete enough to use and start putting things away. As for all those sinks…the 3rd one was the charm and is installed and sink #1 and #2 are back in the boxes & out on my front porch waiting for UPS to pick up today! It’s such a relief to just have any extra boxes out of here.
      I have to give full credit to my daughter for the coffee cup idea – I was just the seamstress and logo thief.

      Like

    • I wish you luck with your re-do. Are you getting a general contractor (my recommendation if it’s major) or are you going to coordinate the project yourself? I think that once the kitchen’s done I might do a summary of what went well, what could have been better, and what I’d never do again. Overall the kitchen designer and her husband, the contractor have been lifesavers. I would not live in the house doing tile installation unless it was a small room by itself – we just had too much to cover and too many hallways and doors for it to be livable.

      Like

  9. In a quick 4-minute read, your words have pretty much reminded me about why I was driven to drink during our kitchen re-do. We began two years ago (March) and still don’t have the granite counters or new range. And there’s this pipe just sticking out of the wall — my future pot-filler. Ah.. I guess we’ll hire a crew the next time. 😉

    Like

    • I have to say this has been….an experience. Not one I’d like to repeat although I’m thrilled with the end result. There are just a few little things that need to be finished off & I’ll be ready to cook again – I could use the stove but figured we’ll leave it in the back hallway until the tile guy finishes off the backsplash & wall behind the stove to make it easier for him.
      I don’t think I’d ever consider coordinating any project of this scope on my own. Too many subcontractors to schedule & working with the people I am, they’ve got a great relationship w/all the subs they use and I only need to go to one person.
      That pipe sticking out of the wall…maybe you could hang some Christmas decorations on it.

      Like

  10. I hope by now that your kitchen is up and running. Renovations are hard to live with but the end result is worth all the mess. Your kitchen looks terrific…I can’t wait until you show us the end result.

    Like

    • Ah, not up & running fully but I have a downstairs bathroom working, functional kitchen sink, dishwasher, and fridge. The stove is going to go in today & then I’m good to go with just a couple touch up things and the final coat of paint. I am so close I can taste the first meal.

      Like

      • Ah Karen – you should have warned me! I can tell you that if I ever go through such an extensive reno again, that I will find a place to stay or do a hotel before living with a floor going in. The rest was livable, but the floor was the most inconvenient & made my brain hurt.

        Like

    • I am so happy w/that island! I will have 3 seats with backs along the long side & on each end 2 backless stools. My favorite is having one at the end within reach of the stove (I have a hard time standing for long periods of time lately). Of course the cat has claimed at least half the island for himself. Of course he doesn’t need all that but he’s a cat & they take what they want just because. It’s a great place to swat at the dog as she walks by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

