Cleecha – Syrian Bread Rolls

Great news from the surgeon – my x-rays show that the new hip is in perfect alignment and now it’s just a matter of physical therapy and getting the muscles in shape.  As far as he’s concerned I don’t have any restrictions on what I can do and although I didn’t bring up driving – since I’ve been doing that for 4 weeks now – I’m a free woman.

To celebrate the good news, my friend and former neighbor of over 20 years took me out for a fantastic brunch.  Judy now lives north of here in a seaside town called Newburyport which unfortunately is about an hour away but she was so kind to not only make the trip down, but true to form arrived bearing gifts…

peturnias from judy
A beautiful colorful pot of pansies which brightened my day and…
caleech
Homemade cleecha, a soft Syrian bread roll which is sooo good with morning coffee.  In the 20 years that I’ve known Judy, she’s never let me go hungry and whenever I’ve had a medical problem (or just because) she’s always the first at my door bearing homemade goodies.  Judy’s mother came to America as a young bride not knowing a word of English and raised her five kids with so much love and a wonderful appreciation of Syrian foods.  Recently Judy has documented these precious recipes and posted the videos on her blog:  The Key to my Art on WordPress.  Rather than have an amateur try to explain how to make these rolls, I’ll turn it over to the experts – Sito and Judy.  I hope you enjoy their kitchen artistry as much as I do.


http://thekeytomyart.wordpress.com/2013/11/17/sitos-kitchen-making-bread-with-mom/

14 thoughts on “Cleecha – Syrian Bread Rolls

  1. YOU ARE TOO MUCH. Thank you for the lovely compliments and I’m so glad you enjoyed the Cleecha. Do you have any left? Did they make it to the freezer like I told you or did John (or lola) get their paws on them? I love cooking for the ones I love and care about. You, too, are a great friend and listener. We sure do know how to chat away the hours, don’t we? Can’t wait for you to visit, but I’m always game for a nice ride to visit a friend, as long as their is food involved… LOL. Again, thanks for all your KIND words, Diane.

    Like

    • I do have ‘some’ left but froze a couple because I know Niki will want some. When I have mine though, Lola sits there doing the laser stare just waiting for it to jump out of my hand and into her mouth. She gets one tiny bite when I’m done but them I have to wipe up the drool on the floor.
      I can’t wait to get up there soon though and Niki still wants to come up too to do a bakery taste testing. I’m sure we’ll figure something to chat about 🙂

      Like

    • Oh, oh…well I’ve got a great surgeon for you if you want to make a trip across the pond. Maybe you should book now though since I went from an X-ray that showed a normal hip to absolutely no cartilage, just bone on bone, in less than a year. Getting old is not for sissies.

      Like

  2. Yay! Yippee! What fantastic news Diane. You are a star patient with your perfect new hip and what a wonderful friend you have who drove to come and see you with gifts too.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  3. I’m so happy to hear that you are headed toward full healing in good shape! What a sweet friend you have to bring bright flowers and delectable rolls; they look so tender and delicious (I’m glad you shared the recipe 🙂 ). Three cheers for a speedy recovery!

    Like

    • Thank you so much & yes, it is truly wonderful to have friends like Judy who are always there to help you when you need it. Isn’t Sito great too? I can’t even imagine her coming to America not knowing anyone as a new bride. I also think it’s wonderful for Judy to tape these recipes & cooking sessions with her mother so that her daughters will always have the memories.

      Like

Leave a Reply

