Shrimp, Beer & Old Spice…I mean Old Bay

We decided to push things a little this weekend regarding John’s potential shellfish allergy.  We do live close to a hospital and the allergy hasn’t been confirmed; plus it seems like I’ve got a lot of recipes that involve shrimp, lobster, crab… but as I make up the week’s menu I’ll ask John “how about… oh wait, no that’s shellfish you’d better not”.  He couldn’t take it anymore so we agreed on this unbelievable shrimp recipe that goes very well with basic risotto. The  rule was:  just eat a little and if you break out into that rash again and start gasping, I’ll just shoot you with my epi-pen.  I figured we’d given the shellfish a break for a couple of weeks and maybe in small portions it would be fine (he was fine so maybe the rash was caused by the IRS after all).  What makes this such an easy dish to prepare is that you can just dump everything into a big pot minus the shrimp while you get the risotto or pasta ready.

SHRIMP, BEER, AND OLD BAY SEASONING

1     Bottle of beer (your preference)
2     Teaspoons salt
4     Bay leaves
1     Tablespoon thyme – or a bunch of fresh sprigs
6     Cloves garlic – peeled & smooshed
1     Tablespoon Old Bay Seasoning
2-3  Lemons – quartered
1     Lb. jumbo shrimp – rinsed & peeled

Fill a large pot with about 1 1/2 quarts water.  Dump a beer in then add salt, bay leaves, thyme, garlic and Old Bay Seasoning.  Squeeze the lemon juice then toss in the quarters.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 5-10 minutes for flavors to combine then add shrimp for about 3 minutes, just until they’re pink.  Can be served with fettuccine but I like it best with basic risotto (which we had with broccoli).

Seconds weren’t an option this time for John but he enjoyed it enough to at least wish for more.

16 thoughts on “Shrimp, Beer & Old Spice…I mean Old Bay

  1. That sounds great, Diane. I have never, ever cooked with any alcohol… and I don’t know why. Maybe I’ll get brave. Glad to hear John made it through.. thank god for that. That could definitley put a cramp your style.

    Like

    • Judy, what are we going to do with you? I don’t think it’s got to be anything fancy – just go get a basic line-up of Holland House: white wine, vermouth, marsala, red. If you need a shot or 2 of bourbon I’ve got a bottle in the cabinet… And yes, it was good that John did ok this time but maybe it’s because I said, “well I suppose I could make lamb”.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Basic No Fail Risotto | Photographs and recipes

Leave a Reply

