Beautiful Memories

Wedding Photography

Wedding Photography

I clearly remember saying that I was going to post wedding photos of my darling daughter, Niki and my much loved son-in-law, Tim.  I’m not sure why that was such a hard post to write because I had so many hundreds of beautiful photographs of that wonderful day.

Maybe it’s because I had so many images from the day to look at and sort through… so many that I could not stop staring at, remembering the precise moment and what was said at that time, and the emotions just would well up and start leaking from my eyes.

I can’t say enough about the fabulous wedding photographer who captured the beauty and emotions in that day.  And, I can’t chose which are my favorites because they all are unique moments in a day so filling with love and happiness.  Carly has such an eye and talent for using lighting and angles to compose the most beautiful photographic album that I’ll link to her blog so that you can share some of those moments with us:  http://www.carlymichelleblog.com/home/2015/8/31/the-crane-estate-ipswich-wedding-boston-wedding-photographer

I love digital photography.  You can snap away taking any number of photos not worrying about wasting film or the cost of developing.  You can crop and enhance making a photograph into a perfect portrait.  But I still spent a lot of time printing out so many of these photographs because for me, some things need to be held in my hands.  Those of my generation have great albums of special times in our lives but we also have shoe boxes full of loving memories, people who were part of our lives.  On rainy or snowy days I love opening those old shoe boxes and holding the images in my hands.  I feel as if I’m holding a loved one once again and the fading and wrinkles add a patina that grows more beautiful with age.  So, definitely embrace digital photography and be sure to have as many special photographs of important moments in your life – but print out special people and moments that you can hold in your hands and remember holding that person once again.

Wedding Photography

Wedding Photography

Wedding Photography

Wedding Photography

Wedding Photography

Wedding Photography

And, just as I was finally able to put words to (digital) paper, the videographer finalized the highlight film clip … and the minute I heard the music, the waterworks started all over again:
http://www.iwed-films.com/2015-08-14/
As you watch the video clip, you may not know the people but I hope that it might remind you of memories of your own and prompt you to find the shoebox of old photos or home movies that you haven’t thought about in ages.  Thanks for sharing our amazing day.

25 thoughts on “Beautiful Memories

  1. These photos are just breathtaking, Diane. What a beautiful day you had. You and John look fantastic. Niki is striking, and Tim is so handsome. The church is beautiful also, as I have been to mass there. Congratulations to all of you. I wish Niki and Tim a most wonderful life together. This just comforts my heart. God bless you all.

    Like

    • Thank you Judy. It was one of the best days of my life and I know that Tim and Niki will have such loving, lasting memories of this day. It is such a beautiful church. We didn’t get to meet the priest from there since Father Frascadore came up from Connecticut to do the ceremony which was wonderful since he’s known Tim and his family since he was young. I just loved his homily and the reference to eyes and love notes was so touching. I still cry every time I watch the video.

      Like

    • That’s so sweet Bongo. alas, the Crane Estate had a specific clause about no dogs allowed (not a bad thing with a pup who has a tendency to clear tables)…but don’t worry she was with my friend for the weekend – we call it going to Club Harry.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Diane now my eyes are leaking and I have goosebumps… how special was this perfect little day! Diane, if your daughter was not the one wearing white, I might have thought you were the beautiful bride. You clean up pretty good girl! Thanks so for sharing with us some of the special moments of the special wedding day.

    Like

    • I don’t know about you, but as soon as I see one person tearing up or as was the case with her Matron of Honor (and the girl I call my 2nd daughter), the catch in her voice as she gave her speech just sent me into meltdown all over again. I loved all of the photo’s but then once I got the copy of the video with music added – well that was it for me & time for the tears all over again.

      I’m telling you though – that makeup artist was a miracle worker. If I could have her live with me…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely the most beautiful video I have ever watched. Thank you so much for sharing Tim and Niki’s magical day with us all Diane. How very special.
    Now to go and fix my mascara!
    Have a happy and love filled day.
    🙂 Mandy xoxoxo

    Like

    • Oh Mandy, I was getting so caught up in all the photographs, having a hard time decided which to post and then I got the video and it just blew me away. I was so glad the videographer used part of the homily because the theme of eyes and writing love notes just brought all the feelings of that day back to me.

      Now go write Pete a love note and tuck it somewhere for him to find.

      Like

  4. I got teary eyed just reading your post….I’ll have to save the photos for another day – when I don’t have to go out in public with red eyes! Very lovely – and I totally agree about printing photos to savor over and over again….

    Like

    • Thanks Kathy. It really was a fantastic day…definitely everything that Niki had dreamed of since she was a little girl and all went according to plan :). I absolutely adore Tim and couldn’t ask for a nicer, considerate,guy for a son-in-law.
      I’ve got to tell you that I loved playing dress up but that makeup artist was a magician!

      Like

  5. Such a beautiful post in so many ways. I am with you on the photo philosophy. It is sad to me that most photos live inside screens now (same with maps and other mementos). Warmest congratulations on this beautiful day!!

    Like

  6. What a fabulous wedding !! (And I’m so very jealous about how very tiny you are.) All the hard work you and your family put into the wedding helped make the day so beautiful and memorable.

    Like

Leave a comment